Studio Museum Announces New Artists-in-Residence
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Studio Museum in Harlem has selected Turiya Adkins, Timothy Yanick Hunter and Clifford Prince King for its 2026–27 artists-in-residence program. The yearlong residency begins in November and includes studio space, professional development, material support and a group exhibition.

The Studio Museum in Harlem has selected Turiya Adkins, Timothy Yanick Hunter and Clifford Prince King as its artists-in-residence for 2026–27, placing the three artists in a yearlong program at the museum’s new building on West 125th Street. The residency begins in November and culminates in a group exhibition, giving the artists studio space, professional development training and material support.

Adkins is a multidisciplinary artist; Hunter is an artist and curator; and King works as a photographer and filmmaker, according to the announcement reported by Hyperallergic. Each resident will have an individual studio at the institution during the program, which runs through October 2027.

The museum’s residency combines workspace and practical support with an opportunity to present work publicly. The cohort’s program will conclude with a group exhibition in one of the museum’s galleries. The announcement does not identify the exhibition’s title, exact dates or the works that will be included.

The selection comes as the museum operates from its new building on West 125th Street. The source report said an exhibition featuring the work of the latest cohort was on view through January 3, though it did not specify the year in that reference. That presentation is separate from the upcoming 2026–27 cohort’s eventual exhibition.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced for the 2026–27 program; resi…
The developmentThe Studio Museum in Harlem named three artists for its yearlong 2026–27 residency, which will take place in the museum’s new West 125th Street building.

A Year of Studio Support in Harlem

The residency matters because it offers the selected artists a sustained period of dedicated studio space alongside material support and professional development, rather than a single exhibition or short-term presentation. The planned group show also gives audiences a way to encounter work made during the program, although the museum has not yet shared details about its format or schedule.

For the Studio Museum, the announcement connects its residency program to activity in its new West 125th Street building. The program places three artists with distinct practices in the institution for a year, creating an opportunity for their work to develop in a shared institutional setting. The source material does not describe the selection criteria or the specific support each artist will receive, so the practical scope of the program beyond the stated provisions remains unknown.

Amazon

artist studio furniture

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Residency’s 2026–27 Timeline

The incoming cohort is scheduled to begin in November 2026 and remain in residence through October 2027. Individual studios, professional development training and material support are listed as parts of the program; a group exhibition is planned for the end of the residency.

The Studio Museum in Harlem is the institution named in the report, which presents the selection as one item in a roundup of arts news. The report provides no further history of the residency, its application process or the number of artists considered. The relevant confirmed details are the three selections, the yearlong term, the location and the broad outline of program support.

Exhibition Details Still Pending

The announcement as presented in the source does not provide artist statements, descriptions of planned projects, or information about whether residents will collaborate. It also does not give the group exhibition’s title, opening date or duration. Those details may be released later, but no timing for further announcements was included.

The source identifies the residency’s general benefits but does not specify the amount of material support, the structure of professional development training, or whether the artists will have access to additional resources. It also does not explain how the three artists were selected. These points should not be inferred from the program description.

Program Begins in November

The three artists are scheduled to begin their residencies in November 2026 and work at the museum through October 2027. The next major public milestone identified is the cohort’s group exhibition, expected to conclude the program. The museum has not announced an exhibition date or further programming in the material available.

As the residency proceeds, the institution may provide more information about the artists’ projects and the exhibition, but the source report does not confirm when those updates will appear. For now, the confirmed schedule is the yearlong residency followed by a group presentation at the museum.

Key Questions

Who are the Studio Museum’s 2026–27 artists-in-residence?

The selected artists are Turiya Adkins, Timothy Yanick Hunter and Clifford Prince King.

When does the residency take place?

The program is scheduled to begin in November 2026 and run through October 2027.

What does the residency include?

Each resident will have an individual studio in the museum’s new West 125th Street building. The program also includes professional development training, material support and a concluding group exhibition.

When will the group exhibition open?

The residency announcement says the program will culminate in a group exhibition but does not provide an opening date, title or duration.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Love The Idea Of A Log Burner, But Don’t Have A Chimney? All May Not Be Lost

A log burner can be installed without an existing chimney using a suitable flue, but building rules, costs and property restrictions apply.

Smaller Makita MakTrak Tool Boxes Are Launching In USA

Makita is expected to bring smaller MakTrak boxes to the U.S. by the holiday season, including shallow and deep open-top crates.

The “Home Of The Future” Is Here, Thanks To Home Depot’s New Tech Tool

Home Depot’s Hubspace app links compatible home devices, with lighting demonstrations at House Beautiful’s Whole Home in Charleston.

Craftsman Launched A New Tool Box Color

Lowe’s has launched three Craftsman metal tool storage products in army green, with listed prices from $399 to $599.