Ring’s First Smart Lock Can Be Charged By Turning A Dial When The Battery Unexpectedly Dies
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, a $249 smart lock with a thumb-turn dial that can generate enough power to unlock the door if its rechargeable battery dies. The lock is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not said how many turns are needed.

Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, a $249 smart lock that can generate emergency power when its rechargeable battery dies: users turn the lock’s thumb-turn dial to produce enough electricity to unlock the door. The device is expected to go on sale in the US in early 2027, subject to FCC approval, and is Ring’s first smart lock.

Amazon says turning the dial “a few times” can generate enough power to unlock the door and regain access to the home. The company has not specified the number of turns or the amount of power produced. The dial is built into the lock, rather than requiring an owner to find a hidden charging port or connect a separate battery to exterior contacts.

The lock is powered during normal use by Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring for installation, according to the announcement. Unlocking options include a fingerprint reader and backlit touchscreen keypad. Owners can register multiple users and set schedules or temporary codes that expire after a specified period.

Users can also lock, unlock and monitor the device through the Ring mobile app, or use voice commands with compatible Amazon Alexa devices. The lock connects to other devices through Amazon’s Sidewalk network, rather than relying on a home Wi-Fi connection. Amazon lists black, silver and brass finishes and says the product is expected to be available in the US in early 2027.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced in 2026; expected in the US i…
The developmentAmazon announced its first Ring smart lock, which uses a hand-turned dial to generate emergency power when its battery is depleted.

A Built-In Backup for Lockouts

A depleted battery can leave a smart-lock user unable to use electronic entry, particularly if no physical key is available. Ring’s dial-based charging feature is designed to provide a way to generate enough power for an emergency unlock without carrying a separate battery or locating a port on the outside of the door. That could make a smart lock easier to use when its battery runs out unexpectedly.

The practical value depends on details Amazon has not provided, including how many turns are needed, how much power they generate and whether the mechanism is straightforward to operate under pressure. The feature is an emergency measure, not a substitute for keeping the lock’s replaceable battery charged. The announced price and planned launch also put the device’s value in context: shoppers will be weighing the backup method and access features against the $249 cost and the need for Sidewalk coverage for connected functions.

Amazon

Ring smart lock emergency power dial

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Ring Plans to Connect the Lock

Many smart locks use a physical key as a backup, while some models provide an exterior USB port or contacts for a 9-volt battery to supply temporary power. The Ring lock’s approach instead uses its thumb-turn dial as a manual power generator. Amazon’s announcement describes the intended emergency result but does not provide technical specifications for the charging mechanism.

The lock’s network choice also shapes how it works. Amazon says it uses its low-power, long-range Sidewalk network, not the home’s Wi-Fi, to communicate with other devices. The company says this can keep features such as remote access and entry alerts available during a home Wi-Fi outage where Sidewalk coverage is adequate. That is a conditional capability: connectivity depends on coverage, and the announcement does not promise service everywhere.

The lock does not include a camera. People who want to see who is at the door would need a separate camera or smart doorbell, according to the report. Amazon announced the lock alongside new Ring cameras, but those products are separate from the lock and are not required for its keypad, fingerprint reader or dial-based emergency power feature.

““A few times””

— Amazon, describing the emergency charging mechanism

Power and Launch Details Pending

Amazon has not disclosed how many turns the dial requires, how much electricity it generates, or how long the emergency charge lasts. The announcement says the power can unlock the door; it does not establish that turning the dial will fully recharge the lock’s battery. The company also has not provided detailed battery-life figures or other technical specifications in the supplied report.

The US release is planned for early 2027 but remains subject to FCC approval. A firm launch date and any changes to the product’s availability, pricing or specifications have not been confirmed. Sidewalk coverage will also vary, and Amazon’s remote-access and alert claims are conditional on adequate network coverage.

FCC Review Before US Release

The next stated milestone is FCC approval, which must precede the expected US release. Amazon has not announced a specific launch day or a preorder date for the lock. The listed price is $249, with black, silver and brass finishes planned.

Before purchase decisions can be made, prospective buyers may want fuller details on the dial’s operation, battery performance, installation requirements and Sidewalk availability where they live. Amazon’s announcement gives the broad feature set and target release window, but those product and rollout details remain outstanding.

Key Questions

How does the Ring Smart Lock work if its battery dies?

Amazon says turning the lock’s thumb-turn dial generates enough power to unlock the door. The company describes this as requiring “a few times,” but has not specified an exact number of turns.

Does turning the dial fully recharge the lock?

That is not confirmed. The announcement says dial-generated power can unlock the door; it does not say the mechanism fully recharges the battery. The lock normally uses a replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack.

When will the Ring Smart Lock be available, and how much will it cost?

Amazon lists the lock at $249 and expects US availability in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No specific release date has been announced.

Does the lock need Wi-Fi or include a camera?

The lock connects through Amazon’s Sidewalk network rather than relying on home Wi-Fi; connected features depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage. It does not include a camera, so video monitoring requires a separate compatible camera or doorbell.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Qualcomm Arduino Has Become Persona Non Grata

A ToolGuyd report says makers’ criticism of Arduino has faded into apathy after Qualcomm’s acquisition and disputed changes to its terms of service.

Materials Matter: How to Choose the Right Fabric for Your Projects

How do you select the ideal fabric for your projects? Discover essential tips that will transform your crafting experience.

How to Organize Your Crafting Supplies: Tools, Materials, and Fabric Care Essentials

Keep your crafting supplies in order with smart organization tips, but what essential fabric care techniques will transform your workspace? Discover more inside!

Popular TP-Link Tapo Cameras Patched To Prevent Unauthorised Local Access.

TP-Link issued firmware fixes for flaws in Tapo C200 and C120 cameras that could expose camera access to attackers on the same network.